Finding the good in the bad

So some of you may already know that I had a bike crash on the way to the Barb’s Race Triathlon this past Saturday. I will spare the exact details but basically I went head over handlebars and hit my helmet and chin hard on the cement. My chin started gushing blood and I went back to our vacation rental with tears in my eyes and a rag on my chin. Jason was such a great guy, he did everything he could to make me feel better and stitch me up. The cut on my face would not stop bleeding for anything at first. Finally after about 10 band-aids and lots of ice we were able to get the blood to stop. I didn’t want to just sit and wallow in our room so I did what any person who might have a mild-concussion and a lot of pain would do- we went to the bar to drown away my sorrows.

After the 1 beer we went to lunch since I realized that I hadn’t eaten anything since 5am that morning. I tried to chew lightly and managed to get down some food. The next plan was to go to the race finish line to get my run gear and turn in my timing chip. I found my gear and started seeing athletes everywhere. It took all I had to not just break down and cry right there. I searched for a volunteer to give my timing chip back and they told me to find Barb(the founder of the race) so I can get my medal still. I didn’t want a medal if I didn’t race, bottom line. I finally found someone to give the timing chip too and told Jason we had to leave because this was too hard for me emotionally. I was cheering for my friends on the inside but I was still in a lot of pain and I needed to get away from the race. I hope those of you who raced understand that I could not be there.

I am looking back thinking about what could have happened, I could have broken a bone and been rushed to the hospital. I could have gone into oncoming traffic. I am lucky I was able to get up and ride away and my bike is barely messed up. I am barely messed up. I am still a strong woman who could have done the race but it was not in the cards for me that day. I will return to triathlons but for now I plan to focus on wedding planning and getting better physically and emotionally. It was a lot of stress training for this race and I loved it most of the time, but I need a break from it right now. I am focusing on the good things in my life instead of the bad. And wedding planning is going to be good…Real good.

Leave a Reply

