Living the Buddha Life…

Source

Whenever I start getting stressed or worried about life, I always think back to my Eastern Philosophies class, and imagine what would Buddha do in this situation. Being in a world absent of too much thought or attachment must have been nice; but the road to enchantment was very long and windy with many obstacles on the way. I know that when adopting these beliefs one works towards this life of enlightenment. I was never fully committed to being a Buddhist but I do believe in the philosophy. If I could rid myself of attachments I know my life would be a much simpler life. I also need to stop thinking so much, especially of things that I have no control over. Buddha would have some strong words for me regarding these thoughts. Especially when these thoughts inevitably lead to bad feelings. When the mind is completely unattached the heart can finally breathe. I want my heart to breathe, but first I need to teach my lungs to do that before the stress starts to eat at my soul.

I am trying not to be negative but this is how I am feeling and what I am thinking about today. I am going to change my energy right now and refocus my energy on my meals and fitness this week.

Meals today

Breakfast

  • Green Monster smoothie

Lunch

Leftover home made rosemary turkey Vegetable soup soup – a slight variation to this recipe.

In order to change my current train of thought I am going to list some things I am happy about because the Buddha would want me to focus on happy things.

  • After having an off weekend I did get back on track with healthy things yesterday- home made turkey soup, and veggie omelet was the most of what I ate yesterday since I was not feeling so hot.
  • Made my green monster this morning and already feeling good.
  • My loving boyfriend who is always there for me even when I am acting a little crazy.
  • My amazing friends who I can never get enough of.
  • My body for not letting me down for my Triathlon, and teaching me lessons about what I can and can not handle.
  • My beautiful home, even though it is messy it is my own.
  • My two cats, they can be annoying but I am happy to have them in my life.
  • My job, it might not be the best in the world but it gives me hope for the future.
  • My drive of life.
  • My love of fitness.

The list really could go on and on. Lets all remember the things in life that are really worth living. Try to not sweat the small stuff and believe in love.

Leave a Reply

